skip to main menu | menu of section Prague has been named a UNESCO Creative City of Literature

Home › About the project › UNESCO Creative Cities Network

UNESCO Creative Cities Network

The UNESCO Creative Cities Network (UCCN) was created in 2004 to promote cooperation with and among cities that have identified creativity as a strategic factor for sustainable urban development. The 246 cities from 72 different countries which currently make up this network work together towards a common objective: placing creativity and cultural industries at the heart of their development plans at the local level and cooperating actively at the international level. In addition to Prague is a member of the UNESCO Creative Cities Network another Czech city Brno, which has gain the title of Creative City of Music.

The prestigious title of Creative City of Literature, which has been held by Prague since 2014, has been awarded by UNESCO to the cities of particular importance in the field of literature. The UNESCO Creative Cities of Literature Network now associates 39 cities around the world. Current holders of the title were: Edinburgh, Melbourne, Iowa, Dublin, Reykjavik, Norwich, Kraków, Prague, Dunedin, Heidelberg, Granada, Baghdad, Barcelona, Ljubljana, Lviv, Montevideo, Nottingham, Óbidos, Tartu, Uljanovsk, Bucheon, Durban, Lillehammer, Manchester, Milán, Québec, Seattle a Utrecht. This 30 October 2019, 11 cities have been designated as UNESCO Creative Cities of Literature by the Director-General of UNESCO, Audrey Azoulay: Angoulême, Beirut, Exeter, Kuhmo, Lahore, Leeuwarden, Nanjing, Odessa, Slemani, Wonju and Wrocław.

česky | English